Pat Lonergan from Doma Hotels receives TAA Member of the Year at the 2019 TAA (ACT) Awards.
Pat Lonergan from Doma Hotels receives TAA Member of the Year at the 2019 TAA (ACT) Awards.

Hotels, pubs, bars, restaurants and the leading figures behind them were all honoured for outstanding service during a year which saw the re-election of the Morrison government and significant movement in the Australian capital’s hospitality industry.

Amid the largest crowd of 470 to attend the Tourism Accommodation Australia (ACT) Awards 2019 in a decade, the event saw the crowning of Pat Lonergan from Doma Hotels as the branch’s 2019 Member of the Year.

AHA ACT General Manager Anthony Brierley praised Lonergan as “an institution in Canberra”, adding he was respected for his professionalism and integrity and a key contributor to the success of the city’s accommodation industry.

The evening’s host venue, Hotel Realm, was also one of the biggest winners, claiming Best New or Redeveloped Venue in the accommodation segment. The property also took out Best Conference and Events Venue, Best Wine List for Buvette Bistro and the Rising Star Award for talented up-and-comer James Lightbody – a name to watch in years to come.

Another property taking home a swag of awards was East Hotel in Kingston, which won Superior Hotel of the Year, Apartment/Suite Hotel of the Year and Chef of the Year for Francesco Balestrieri at Agostino’s Restaurant.

Tourism Accommodation Association National CEO, Michael Johnson, said the evening was evident of the kind of impact the capital’s industry could make on a national level.

“The industry has exploded here over the last decade and ACT venues are up there with some of the best in the country, if not the world.

“The love and care hoteliers and staff put into these venues is obvious and I congratulate the winners and all the nominees on a job well done,” Johnson added.

Winners of the 2019 Tourism Accommodation Australia (ACT) Awards are:

Best Food and Beverage Talent (General Division): Patrick Vance – Badger & Co

Best Food and Beverage Talent (Accommodation Division): Vincent Maulio – QT Canberra

Best Sales and Marketing Talent: Brooke Ivins – 88MPH

Best Finance Talent (Accommodation Division): Anh Rutherford – QT Canberra

Best Revenue Talent (Accommodation Division): Katie Smith – QT Canberra

AICR Receptionist of the Year (Accommodation Division): Refat Bin Jahangir – Hyatt Hotel Canberra

Best Environmental Practices: Little National Hotel

Best Traditional Pub, Inn or Tavern: Mooseheads Pub and Nightclub

Best Wine List: Buvette Bistro and Wine Bar, Hotel Realm

Best Late Night Entertainment Venue: Kokomo’s

Best TAB Venue: Ducks Nuts Bar and Grill

Best Sporting Entertainment Venue: The Dock

Best Cocktail, Lounge or Small Bar: Molly

Best Conferences and Events Venue: Hotel Realm

Best Beer Quality (Draught): The Durham Castle Arms Pub, The Durham

Best Beer Quality (Craft or Local): Bentspoke Brewing Co

Bartender of the Year: Michael Nguyen – Molly

Best New or Redeveloped Venue (Accommodation Division): Hotel Realm

Best New or Redeveloped Venue (General Division): Fenway Public House

Mid-Range Hotel of the Year: Brassey Hotel

Superior Hotel of the Year: East Hotel

Apartment / Suite Hotel of the Year: East Hotel

Deluxe Hotel of the Year: Jamala Wildlife Lodge

Industry Rising Star (Accommodation Division): James Lightbody – Hotel Realm

Best Casual Dining Venue: The District

Best Italian Restaurant: Molto Italiano

Chef of the Year: Francesco Balestrieri – Agostini’s (East Hotel)

Best Restaurant: Raku

Best Burger: Young and Frisky

Best Steak: The Duxton

Pub Eatery: 1882 Bar and Grill

Member of the Year: Pat Lonergan – Doma Hotels

John Press Award: Lala Hospitality Group