The memory of former ProInvest Technical Director, Paul Davis, is celebrated at Design Inn each year.
Former Pro-invest Technical Director, Paul Davis, will be honoured at AHICE 2019 in Melbourne.

The life and work of renowned and widely respected hotel designer Paul Davis will be honoured at the 10th annual Australian Hotel Industry Conference and Exhibition (AHICE), with a prestigious new accolade for hotel design launched today.

In partnership with Davis’ final employer Pro-invest, the Paul Davis Hotel Design Award will be bestowed upon a hotel designer who exemplifies similar qualities in their work including prodigious creativity, innovation and professionalism.

Details of how designers can submit their work online for consideration will be released shortly.

Submissions will need to meet entry criteria for our panel of esteemed judges to assess. Our inaugural Paul Davis Hotel Design Award judges are:

– David Seargeant: former Event Hospitality and Entertainment Limited CEO and Managing Director.

– Graham Wackett: former Managing Director and CEO of Southern Pacific Hotel Corporation, Managing Director Travelodge Australia and Board Member of  Taronga Conservation Society Australia.

– Leone Lorrimer: for 30 years, Lorrimer has been a presence in the architecture and design profession. This included executive director roles with two international practices. She is also a judge for the Architecture Masterprize (USA) and the Inde Awards.

Paul Davis led an accomplished international career following his graduation as an architect, first with the Southern Pacific Hotel Corporation, then InterContinental Hotels Group. Later roles with his own business, then Lend Lease and Pro-invest cemented his legacy, which also included a highly approachable disposition and an innate ability to make colleagues feel good about what they had achieved. Paul tragically passed away at the end of January 2018.

AHICE will take place at the Grand Hyatt in Melbourne from May 1 and 2, with a special STR workshop preceding the event on 30 April.