Entries are now open for the 2022 Australasia-Pacific Hotel Design Awards, with four categories on offer this year and the winner to be announced at Design Inn in Adelaide on May 3.

The annual awards celebrate excellence in hotel interior design for projects located in Australia, New Zealand and the South Pacific (including Hawaii) and completed and opened during 2021.

The four awards – for new-build properties, conversions, refurbishments and an overall winner, the Paul Davis Award – recognise exceptional projects that demonstrate design innovation, a commitment to sustainability design practices and deliver exceptional guest experience.

The awards are open to all market segments in the Australian, New Zealand and South Pacific (including Hawaii) hotel industry. Properties of all sizes and in any location in the region can be entered. Entries are open to new-build properties, conversions and refurbishments. In judging, the award will consider:

Design Concept – Conceptual response to the brief;

Function – Space planning and functional performance assessed against the brief;

Impact – Design that impresses customers / clients / travel industry;

Disciplines – Design utilises the skills of diverse design disciplines, such as lighting, sound and / or colour; and

Sustainability – Design utilises sustainable design in procurement and operations.

Eligibility note: new-build hotels and conversions must have opened in 2021 and refurbishment projects completed in 2021 to enter.

The Australasia-Pacific Hotel Design Awards celebrate design-focused hospitality projects from across Australasia and the Pacific that demonstrate innovation and provide exceptional guest experiences.

In 2022, we will be presenting four awards:

• Hotel of the Year (new-build)

• Hotel of the Year (conversion)

• Hotel of the Year (refurbishment)

• 2022 Paul Davis Award for the Australasia-Pacific Hotel of the Year

This award honours Paul Davis — renowned hotel architect and designer; a passionate and pivotal figure in hotel design in the Asia Pacific region. An architect by trade, Paul was instrumental throughout his career in the planning, design and operational review of numerous international hotels throughout the Asia Pacific region.

AHICE and Design Inn are proud to honour Paul Davis with this landmark industry design award. His love of design and excellence in his career which saw him involved in numerous hospitality projects across the globe has left a lasting impression on both the design and hotel industries.

The 2021 Paul Davis Award winners were:
Little National Hotel Sydney for Best New Build Property in Australasia and QT Auckland for Best Refurbishment in Australasia.

For more information about the award or to enter, click here.

Entries Close – Wednesday 13 April 2022

Winner announced and award bestowed at Design Inn Tuesday 3 May 2022.

For sponsorship and ticket packages for Design Inn 2022, please contact
James Wilkinson on +61 2 9660 2113 or email jwilkinson@intermedia.com.au or
Tara Ducrou on +61 2 8586 6285 or email tara@intermedia.com.au