Stillwater Seven in Launceston was the winner of the 2020 Paul Davis Hotel Design Award.

Nine finalists have been selected by judges as the front-running candidates in the running to win the third annual Paul Davis Hotel Design Award at the 2021 edition of Design Inn and AHICE in Adelaide next month.

The awards – for new-build properties and refurbishments – recognise exceptional projects that demonstrate design innovation, a commitment to sustainability design practices and deliver exceptional guest experience.

For 2021, the award has been expanded, with two accolades presented recognising ‘Best New Build Property Hotel Design’ and ‘Best Refurbishment in Australasia’. Dozens of submissions have been received by interior designers and architects plying their trade at the highest level across the hotel, tourism and hospitality fields in Australia, New Zealand and the South Pacific, with many outstanding quality entries received.

In judging, the award will consider:

Design Concept – Conceptual response to the brief
Function – Space planning and functional performance assessed against the brief
Impact – Design that impresses customers / clients / travel industry
Disciplines – Design utilises the skills of diverse design disciplines, such as lighting, sound and / or colour
Sustainability – Design utilises sustainable design in procurement and operations

Judges for the 2021 Paul Davis Hotel Design Award include GHDWoodhead National Practice Leader, Leone Lorrimer, Design Assembly Principal, Paul Wiste and Scott Carver Director, Angela Biddle.

The finalists being considered, in alphabetical order, are as follows:

The Central Private Hotel by Naumi

Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach

Crowne Plaza Melbourne

EOS by SkyCity Adelaide

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Queenstown

Little National Sydney

Naumi Studio Hotel Wellington

Powerhouse Hotel Tamworth by Rydges

QT Auckland

The winners of the 2021 Paul Davis Hotel Design Award will be announced at Design Inn on Tuesday 4 May 2021.