Team Fairmont TAA 2013

Tourism Accommodation Australia (NSW) held its 2013 Awards for Excellence on Wednesday night (July 24), an event that attracted 560 political, business and industry leaders.

The 16th annual Awards for Excellence was opened by the NSW Premier Barry O’Farrell, who acknowledged the important role of accommodation and service to the tourism industry.

It was also attended by NSW Minister for Tourism and Major Events, George Souris, who presented the Deluxe Hotel Accommodation of the Year Award to Park Hyatt Sydney.

Other winners included Lilianfels Resort and Spa, which took out Regional Deluxe Hotel Accommodation of the Year Award, Sydney Boulevard Hotel, which took out the Outstanding Community Achievement Award, and Hilton Sydney, winner of Function Venue of the Year.

TAA (NSW) chair Nigel Greenaway said the quality of all Award winners highlighted the current strength of the accommodation industry and was a testament to the considerable investment of the past few years.

“I think everyone there last night would agree our hotels are world-class – the strong field of finalists and the quality of the winners spoke volumes,” he said.

The Best Superior Regional Accommodation Award went to Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains, something that delighted new General Manager, Bernie Boller.

“While I have only been at the resort for 6 weeks, it is easy to see why the Fairmont Resort has taken out this prestigious award,” he said.

“The Fairmont is celebrating its 25th birthday next month, so winning this award is a real coup for the resort and our owner, Dr Jerry Schwartz, who has been tireless in his pursuit of restoring and renovating the resort and making it into what it is today. I thank the team for their dedication and enthusiasm and I accept this award on behalf of them.”

From Radisson Blu Hotel Sydney, David Bayly was awarded employee of the year for ‘Public Relations, Sales and Marketing’, while Wayne Arthur was highly commended as front house employee of the year.

“Both David and Wayne are an invaluable asset to the Radisson Blu Hotel Sydney team and have been long time employees and it’s great to see that they are recognized by the industry as being the best in their fields,” said Radisson Blu Hotel Sydney General Manager Peter Tudehope.

Other notable winners included: David Patt from InterContinental Sydney for Concierge of the Year, Andrea Donaghy from the Fairmont Resort for Front of House Employee of the Year, Maria Macri-Nosari from the Sydney Harbour Marriott for Employee Excellence in Service, Timothy Hunt from Park Hyatt Sydney for Hotel Industry Rising Star, Shirley Delaberbis from Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley for Housekeeper of the Year, Bo Ip Sorenson from Shangri-La Hotel Sydney for Chef of the Year, Gabrielle Fitzsimmons from Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens for Apprentice/Trainee of the Year, Grain at Four Seasons Hotel Sydney for Bar of the Year, Altitude Restaurant at Shangri-La Hotel Sydney for Metro Restaurant of the Year, Feast – a world of flavours at Sheraton on the Park for Metro Brasserie/Café of the Year, Novotel Sydney Olympic Park for Best Environmental Practice, and Four Points by Sheraton Sydney, Darling Harbour for Superior Hotel Accommodation of the Year.

There were two special Hall of Fame recipients this year: Hilton Sydney (Outstanding Achievement in Training) and Sheraton on the Park (Workplace Health and Safety Hotel of the Year).