Accor's Simon McGrath (L) is presented with the Hotel Chain of the Year Award


Accor Hospitality led the charge at the inaugural Accommodation Association of Australia (AAA) Awards at Hilton Sydney on Friday night (June 24), picking up 11 awards and ‘medals’, including Hotel Chain of the Year.

Accor’s Vice President – Australia, Simon McGrath, who picked up an ACES (attitude, commitment, enthusiasm, service) award on the night, said the company was proud to have so many properties and staff recognised in the awards.

“We are thrilled to have been recognized as industry leaders at the AAA Awards at a time when Accor is celebrating its 20th year in Australia,” he said.

“To win Hotel Chain of the Year and have our employees named as the best in the industry is a true testament to everything Accor has worked towards over the past two decades.”

The top award on the night, Property of the Year, went to the Scone Motor Inn and Conference Centre and the gong caps off a stellar year for the regional property, which was also recognised at the National Tourism Awards earlier this year.

Other major winners included:
-Best 5-Star or Premier Accommodation Hotel – Sofitel Sydney Wentworth (Sydney, NSW);
-Best 4.5-Star or Luxury Accommodation Motel – Hermitage Lodge (Pokolbin, NSW)
-Best Self-Contained 5-Star or Premier Accommodation – Banjos Bushland Retreat (Vacy, NSW)
-Chain of the Year – Accor Hotels; and
-General Manager of the Year – Erkin Aytekin, Novotel Melbourne St Kilda (St Kilda, VIC).

Hon. Bob Baldwin (L) presents the Property of the Year Award to Scone Motor Inn

Alongside McGrath, ACES awards also went to: Chris Pye (Hospitality Inns, WA); Andrew Daff (Lane Cove River Tourist Park, NSW); Matt Davidson (Best Western Wollongong, NSW); and Karina Groth (Tourism Business Solutions).

The Lifetime Achievement Award on the night went to Blue Mountains International Hotel Management School CEO Guy Bentley.

“The National Accommodation Industry Awards for Excellence are all about achieving and maintaining the highest standards in the accommodation industry,” said Accommodation Association of Australia CEO, Lorraine Duffy.

“The awards represent a wonderful opportunity to celebrate the thousands of businesses that make up our accommodation industry and provide great service to millions of domestic and overseas visitors.”

For a full list of winners and finalists, click here.