Deepesh Kholwadwala.

The IHG Owners Association, which represents InterContinental Hotels Group franchise hotel owners worldwide, has announced that Deepesh Kholwadwala has assumed chairmanship of its Global Board of Directors for 2018.

Deepesh is the President and CEO of Dreamcatcher Hotel Group and Sun Capital Hotels with expertise in hotel feasibility, planning, financing, construction, and operations. Deepesh succeeds Allen Fusco, owner and operator of ANABRA Associates.

“I am proud to serve as the voice of our owner members this year, and I look forward to collaborating with IHG in this endeavor,” said Kholwadwala.

Don Berg, CEO of the IHG Owners Association, notes that “Deepesh’s intellect and mathematical mindset will prove beneficial as we tackle our hotel owners’ challenges with revenue management and commissions to third parties. Another of our main goals is to manage industry disrupters to ensure optimal returns to the bottom line. Deepesh’s technological perspective will be a fresh, forward-thinking approach for our Association members.”

Deepesh is a University of New Mexico graduate and holds a Master’s in Mechanical Engineering from Purdue University. He started his first career at Sandia National Laboratories in Albuquerque where he was appointed as the principal investigator to lead several Russian R&D projects aimed at nuclear non-proliferation.

Guided by his father’s principles of business, Deepesh raised capital and structured a successful launch of his hotel company in 2003. Today, Deepesh’s company owns and/or operates nine IHG, Hilton and Marriott-branded hotels in its portfolio with an additional four in the pipeline.  He leads his management team to uphold the company’s mission to provide guests unrivaled and exceptional levels of hospitality.

The IHG Owners Association 2018 Global Board of Directors are as follow:

  • Chair: Deepesh Kholwadwala
  • Chair Elect: Kurt Furlong
  • Treasurer: Jerry Dimeo
  • Secretary: Felix Seiler
  • Past Chair Representative: Bakulesh “Buggsi” Patel
  • IHG Owners Association CEO: Don Berg
  • AMEA Regional Representative: Ronald Barrott
  • AMER Member at Large: Peter D. Beukema
  • AMER Member at Large: Perry Molubhoy
  • AMER Member at Large: Manish Patel
  • AMER Member at Large: Joel Zorilla
  • Europe Regional Representative: John Stuart
  • Europe Regional Representative: Nicola Taylor

IHG Representative: Elie Maalouf